What Makes High-Quality Quilting Fabric
Table of Contents

⚠ Disclaimer: This entry may be incomplete, out of date, or inaccurate. It is AI-maintained on a best-effort basis. Do not rely on it as a sole source — verify claims independently using the sources listed below.

Summary

Quilting fabric (“quilting cotton”) is a plain-weave, 100% cotton woven cloth, typically 42–44 inches wide and roughly 4–6 oz/yd², sold mainly through quilt shops and online. Quality is the product of yarn and weave density, finishing, dye chemistry and lot-to-lot consistency, and print registration — not of any single number. The category’s supply chain is unusually opaque: most major brands do not publish mill names, and where origin has been disclosed it is overwhelmingly Asian (Korea, Japan, Indonesia, Thailand, India), with a small U.S.-grown/U.S.-made segment.

Key Facts

  • Type: technology / product category
  • Status: Mature; U.S. quilting-industry revenue estimated at $4.5B in 2025 (all quilting spend, not fabric alone), 9–11 million active U.S. quilters (HandiQuilter-funded Quilter’s Survey, February 2025)
  • Construction: plain weave, 100% cotton, woven (not knit); about 68 × 68 threads per inch typical per one consumer guide, 60 × 60 cited as a minimum by another
  • Weight: about 4 oz/yd² (135 g/m²) light to 6 oz/yd² (203 g/m²) heavy; width 42–44 in (apparel cotton 54–60 in)
  • Dominant dye class for cotton: reactive dyes (covalent bond with cellulose)
  • Disclosed brand origins (2017 survey): Korea, Indonesia, Thailand (Kona); Japan (Cotton + Steel, Friedlander); Korea and Japan (Moda); South Korea (Art Gallery); Indian subcontinent (Cloud 9); United States (American Made Brand)
  • Retail price: $5–$25 per yard cited across quality levels; one U.S.-grown solid lists at $9.24/yd

What It Is / How It Works

Fiber: cotton, synthetics, and blends

Quilt-shop fabric is 100% cotton, always woven. Cheaper craft-store fabric may be a cotton–synthetic blend (Nancy’s Notions). Brands do not publish where the cotton itself was grown. The only brand-level fiber claim found is for Clothworks’ American Made Brand solids, listed by one retailer as “grown right here in the USA”; a 2017 comparison described that line as grown, spun, woven, and dyed in the U.S. For everything else, the fiber origin is inferred from where the mills are: mills in Indonesia, for example, buy imported cotton, with the United States Indonesia’s third-largest supplier (USDA FAS). See Cotton Supply and Fabric Buyers.

Synthetics matter more to the components of a quilt than to the top fabric: batting (polyester, cotton, wool, bamboo, and blends; two leading batting brands are described by one retailer as “USA made,” with no facility named) and thread. Polyester/cotton blend woven fabrics are a large U.S. mill product (Hamrick Mills lists poly/cotton blends and 100% cotton), but they sit outside the quilt-shop standard. Water-jet looms handle only synthetic fibers (Toyota Industries), so cotton quilting cloth is woven on air-jet, rapier, or projectile looms. As general textile knowledge (not sourced in this review), longer-staple cottons spin finer, smoother yarns; no named quilting brand was found to document its staple length.

Construction: weave, count, weight, width

  • Weave: plain weave — each weft yarn alternates over and under each warp yarn. Quilting cotton is described as medium weight with a slightly stiff drape.
  • Thread count is not one metric. Sources use at least three: ends × picks per inch (60 × 60, 68 × 68), “threads per inch” (a retailer FAQ says Art Gallery runs “around 60” versus 40–50 for standard cotton), and the metric yarn number used in U.S. customs, where unbleached plain-weave cotton “printcloth” is defined as over 100 and up to 200 g/m² with yarn numbers 43–68 (HTS 5208.12.60.60; Wove tariff lookup). The base cloth later printed or dyed into quilting fabric is the same kind of cloth.
  • Floors and ceilings: one guide says fabrics at 50–60 per inch may be too lightweight for quilts and that quilt shops reportedly stock only 68 or higher; another sets a floor of 60 × 60. Counts of 200 or higher are uncommon and pricier (Ageberry). A premium lawn (Liberty Tana Lawn) is reported at about 240 per square inch by a retailer blog — an unverified figure.
  • Weight consistency: one experienced reviewer argues a consistent fabric weight across a quilt improves durability and notes that Art Gallery’s Pure Elements are thinner and slightly silkier than Kona or Free Spirit solids (Stitched in Color). This is a single reviewer’s opinion.

Preparation and finishing

Multi-step finishing softens the cloth, reduces shrinkage, and sets dye; cheaper fabrics often skip steps and end up stiffer, shrinkier, and less colorfast, and some are chemically stiffened (Ageberry). Cotton can shrink up to 5%; Spoonflower’s cotton is quoted at 1–3% in length and 2–4% in width. Because fabric is woven first and printed afterward, prints can end up off-grain. Some lower-quality dark blues, reds, purples, and greens can release excess dye, so prewashing is advised.

Dyes and dyeing (solids)

  • Chemistry: reactive dyes are described as “the most important method for coloring cellulose fibers.” They form a covalent bond with the cotton, which gives good fastness; the trade-off is hydrolysis (the dye also reacts with water), so utilization is low. Procion MX (dichlorotriazine, about 30 °C) and Remazol (vinyl sulfone, about 40 °C) are the textbook examples (Reactive dye). No quilting brand was found that publishes its dye class; Robert Kaufman states only that Kona is Oeko-Tex certified and that its mills “meet the highest standards” (2017, via Stitched in Color).
  • Who makes the dyes: the industrial supply is concentrated outside the U.S. Archroma (Pratteln, Switzerland; an SK Capital portfolio company) closed its acquisition of Huntsman’s Textile Effects business in March 2023, creating a company of more than 5,000 employees in 42 countries with 35 production sites (Knitting Industry). DyStar (Singapore) is majority-owned by Senda International Capital, a wholly owned subsidiary of China’s Longsheng Group, with 14 production sites in 12 countries (DyStar). No U.S.-headquartered large textile-dye maker surfaced in this review.
  • Artisan dyeing: Cherrywood Fabrics (Baxter/Brainerd, Minnesota) hand-dyes 100% cotton with a suede-like tone-on-tone texture and states it is produced in Minnesota; its base cloth source is not disclosed (Cherrywood). Hoffman’s Indah line is described as woven and hand-dyed in Bali.
  • Emerging alternatives: ColorZen’s cotton pre-treatment (2012 company claims: about 90% less water, 75% less energy; New York HQ, China manufacturing) and Colorifix’s biological dyeing (Norwich, UK; $43.7M raised per CB Insights) are documented but neither is evidenced in quilting cotton.

Printing (prints)

Printed quilting cotton is typically made by multi-screen rotary printing; “name brand” printing “often involves multiple screens and layers” (Nancy’s Notions). Industry-wide (not quilting-specific) data: Zimmer Austria’s data show a 97:3 traditional-to-digital product mix, with pigments 45% and reactive dyes 27% of traditional printing (Textile World); SPGPrints said in 2020 that digital was under 10% of printed textiles and that rotary stays cheaper for long runs (SPGPrints). Digital is the model for short runs and custom fabric (e.g., Spoonflower). See Textile Machinery Makers.

Tiers

The tier framework below is this knowledge base’s analytical grouping, not an industry standard. Prices are retailer-reported and unverified unless noted.

Tier Typical examples Construction / finishing Origin (per sources) Reported retail
1. Mass-market craft Big-box and house-brand cotton Lower or unstated count; may be blended; fewer finishing steps (“stiff as a board,” more bleed) Not stated Not sourced
2. Quilt-shop branded cotton Kona, Moda, Free Spirit, Cotton + Steel About 60 × 60 to 68 × 68; multi-screen prints; consistent color matching Korea, Indonesia, Thailand, Japan (2017) About $8.50–$15 (retailer blog)
3. Premium / specialty Art Gallery, Kokka (nani IRO, echino), Liberty Tana Lawn Thinner, silkier, or higher-count (lawn about 240 reported) South Korea (Art Gallery, 2017); Japan “woven, dyed, and finished” (Kokka) Liberty about $35–$45 (retailer blog)
4. Artisan / hand-dyed Hoffman Bali batiks and Indah, Cherrywood Hand-dyed; tone-on-tone depth Bali, Indonesia; Minnesota, USA Hoffman about $14–$18 (retailer blog)
5. U.S.-grown, mainstream solids Clothworks American Made Brand Lighter than Kona or Free Spirit; 75 colors (2017) United States (grown; spun, woven, dyed per 2017 review) $9.24/yd, $8.64 for 2+ yd (Missouri Star)

Who is “best”? Dyer and weaver

No public ranking of dyers or weavers for quilting cloth exists, and none can be built from public data: the mills are unnamed. The evidence supports only proxies:

  • Certification: Kaufman says Kona is Oeko-Tex certified; Art Gallery says it works only with Oeko-Tex and GOTS certified mills (both 2017 statements).
  • Integrated, named-country production: Kokka states most fabrics are “woven, dyed, and finished in Japan”; Cotton + Steel’s designer called its printer the “best print making facility in Japan” without naming it.
  • Hand processes: Hoffman (Bali) and Cherrywood (Minnesota) sell on hand-dyed color depth.
  • Single-reviewer preference: one long-time reviewer prefers Free Spirit’s color and heavier hand and Art Gallery’s silkier feel.

At the machine level, the leading loom and dyeing-machine makers are documented in Textile Machinery Makers, but that identifies who makes the equipment, not which mill uses it best. Settling “best dyer” and “best weaver” would need mill-level lab testing (thread count, GSM, shrinkage, colorfastness) of sampled bolts.

Pricing: retail and wholesale

  • Retail: $5–$25 per yard spans the whole category. Direct observation: American Made Brand cream solid lists at $9.24/yd, $8.64/yd for two or more yards (about a 6.5% volume discount). Brand-level ranges in the table come from a retailer blog whose other numeric claims are unsourced, so treat them as indicative only.
  • Wholesale: no public wholesale price list was found; distributor pricing is gated. The retail–wholesale spread cannot be stated from verified sources.
  • Channel: 64% of quilters’ supply purchases are made at local quilt shops and over half of fabric and thread shopping is in person (Quilter’s Survey, February 2025, conducted before the 2025 tariff announcements). Joann announced in February 2025 that it would wind down all stores (ADN).
  • Tariffs: the U.S. Supreme Court invalidated IEEPA tariffs in February 2026, after which a 10% global tariff under Section 122 applied (Textile World). The base (MFN) duty on unbleached plain-weave cotton printcloth was listed at 9%. Verify current rates.

Solids versus prints

  • Solids are dyed whole cloth sold as a standing color line and mixed across collections, so color range and lot-to-lot consistency are the quality tests. Kona had 340 colors in 2017 (a retailer blog now claims 360+); American Made Brand had 75 and Art Gallery Pure Elements 73 in 2017.
  • Prints are designer collections, woven first and printed after; quality is print registration, grain alignment, color saturation, and hand. They carry the brand differentiation, and short-run digital printing (Spoonflower, Durham, NC) is the main U.S.-based print capability found.

Overlap with other uses

Quilting cotton is a niche within the print-cloth/woven-cotton envelope that mills sell into apparel, home textiles, and industrial uses.

Use Overlap Evidence
Apparel (shirting, scrubs, career wear) Same plain-weave cotton or poly/cotton; wider cloth (54–60 in) Hamrick Mills product list; Ageberry
Home textiles (sheeting, comforters, mattress-pad backing, ticking, drapery lining, shower curtains) Same base-cloth families; U.S. mills actively serve this Hamrick Mills
Industrial (tape substrates, book bindings, wipes, flocking substrates, laminates) Cheaper constructions from the same weaving sheds Hamrick Mills
Specialty fashion/home (sheeting, oxford, double gauze, broadcloth, linen blends) Japanese quilting houses sell the same constructions to sewists Kokka

Hamrick Mills (Gaffney, SC) weaves widths of 39–135 in at under 2 to 8.5 oz/yd², so quilting’s 42–44 in and 4–6 oz/yd² sit inside what a U.S. vertical mill already makes — what is missing in the U.S. is the quilting-specific converting, color-range, and designer-print layer. See Hamrick Mills.

Where the inputs go and who buys

Inputs and buyers are covered in Cotton Supply and Fabric Buyers. In short: the United States exports about 90% of its raw cotton (12.3 of 13.6 million bales projected for 2026/27) and mills only 1.6 million bales; the biggest raw-cotton buyers are Vietnam, Pakistan, Mexico, and Turkey; and for finished quilting fabric the largest buyer by country is the United States itself. Other national quilting markets were not researched.

Notable Developments

  • 2026-10: Reshoring Textiles acquired Sans Technical Fibers (nylon and polyester yarns, Stoneville, NC), see Reshoring Textiles.
  • 2026-06: Hamrick Mills, Springs Digital, Tryon Finishing, and Carolina Creative Products announced a fully domestic woven-to-printed-to-sewn chain (Hamrick Mills).
  • 2026-04: Unspun announced plans for U.S. automated 3D-weaving hubs (Unspun).
  • 2026-02: U.S. Supreme Court invalidated IEEPA tariffs; 10% Section 122 tariff followed.
  • 2025-06: Quilter’s Survey summary published (data collected February 2025, before the 2025 U.S. tariff announcements).
  • 2025-02: Joann announced it would wind down operations and close all stores.
  • 2023-03: Archroma closed its acquisition of Huntsman Textile Effects.
  • 2017-11: Stitched in Color published the only public brand-by-brand country-of-manufacture survey found.

Research Gaps

  • Mill names for any major quilting brand (none disclosed in sources reviewed).
  • Current (post-2017) country of manufacture for Kona, Moda, Free Spirit, and Art Gallery; one SEO blog claims Kona is “primarily made in the USA” without a source, which conflicts with the 2017 survey and is not relied on here.
  • Wholesale price lists and the retail–wholesale margin.
  • Quilting-fabric markets outside the United States (Japan, UK, Australia, Germany).
  • The dye class and print method used by named brands.

Sources